English Language Proficiency Assessment

A Family’s Guide to ELPA21

(The information provided below is taken from the ELPA21 brochure. You can download a printable version of this publication in English or in Spanish. Please visit https://elpa21.org for more information.)

What is ELPA21?

The English Language Proficiency Assessment for the 21st Century (ELPA21) measures your child’s proficiency in reading, writing, speaking, listening to, and understanding English. ELPA21 defines “proficiency” as the ability to use the English language to communicate ideas, knowledge, and information. This assessment is based on the English Language Proficiency (ELP) Standards, which are designed to address the language abilities that students need to be successful in school and beyond.

Who takes ELPA21?

Students who have been identified as English language learners (ELLs)* will be
required to take ELPA21. The Elementary and Secondary School Act of 2001 requires a yearly assessment of English proficiency for all students who have been identified as ELLs. ELPA21 measures the progress your child is making in achieving English proficiency. *Using the federal definition of “English language learner”

What are the ELP Standards?

The 10 ELP Standards define what English language skills students should have at specific grade levels. They emphasize the shift away from approaching language and content separately, and focus on measuring the language skills your child needs to fully access the general education curriculum. These standards will be used by both English as a Second Language (ESL) and content-area teachers to help prepare your child for success in English language arts, mathematics, and science.